Chicago’s The Skull, have released a brand new track taken from their new album which is scheduled for release this autumn via Tee Pee Records. The single is the title track from upcoming opus, “The Endless Road Turns Dark” – it is available now via digital retail outlets and streaming services. Featuring vocalist Eric Wagner and bassist Ron Holzner, formerly of metal legends Trouble, The Skull creates classic Sabbathian doom with a psych-tinged metal vision. Playing alongside them is Sacred Dawn/Divinity Compromised guitarist Lothar Keller, Brian Dixon of Cathedral, and Witch Mountain guitarist, Rob Wrong.

The single comes just days before The Skull head out on the road in the USA, kicking off in their hometown on Saturday. The band will head to Europe this September in support of the new album, with new dates still being added to the run. For the most up-to-date listings – including a stop at Desertfest Antwerp – see below.

“The Endless Road Turns Dark” will be the follow up to The Skull’s 2014 debut “For Those Which Are Asleep” – which received widespread critical acclaim and is now a firm fan favourite. No doubt tracks from the upcoming album will feature heavily on the tour set list, alongside earlier tracks, and some classic Trouble numbers. A wicked exercise in heavy metal majesty, “The Endless Road Turns Dark” plays like a natural extension of the musicians exemplary work during their 20-plus years with Trouble and cements The Skull as modern day doom metal royalty.

Among the European dates will be a two-night stint in Haugesund, Norway, where the band will play an all-Trouble set one night, and The Skull only on the other night.

The Skull - The Endless Road Turns Dark“The Endless Road Turns Dark” tracklisting:

1. The Endless Road Turns Dark
2. Ravenswood
3. Breathing Underwater
4. The Longing
5. From Myself Depart
6. As The Sun Draws Near
7. All That Remains (Is True)
8. Thy Will Be Done

You can pre-order “The Endless Road Turns Dark” via Tee Pee Records now.

“The Endless Road Turns Dark” European tour dates:

26.09 NL-Amstelveen P 60
28.09 NO-Haugesund Heavy Nights – The Skull set
29.09 NO-Haugesund Heavy Nights – Trouble set
02.10 DE-Osnabrück Bastard Club *
03.10 DE-Hannover Faust *
04.10 DE-Hamburg Molotow *
05.10 DE-Berlin Cassiopeia
6.10 DE-Dresden Dresden Night of Doom @ Puschkin
07.10 AT-Vienna Viper Room *
08.10 HU-Budapest Dürer Kert *
09.10 SI-Ljubljana Channel Zero AKC Metelkova Mesto *
10.10 IT-Milano Ligera *
11.10 IT-Bologna Freakout *
12.10 DE-Sonthofen Barfly
14.10 BE-Antwerp Desertfest
15.10 DE-Frankfurt dasBett +
16.10 DE-Munich Backstage +
17.10 DE-Freiburg Slow Club +
18.10 DE-Cologne Sonic Ballroom +
19.10 NL-Landgraaf Oefenbunker
20.10 MT-Siggiewi Malta Doom Metal Festival

*With Acid Muffin
+With Castle

Further shows still to be added.