Thin Lizzy - Live In London 2011Well-known in the music world since the 70s hard rock classics Thin Lizzy don’t need an introduction at all. This live album is a complete recording of their concert at the London Hammersmith Apollo on January 22 2011.

This night’s set list features all the songs that made the band famous: ‘Whiskey In The Jar’, ‘The Boys Are Back In Town’, ‘Dancing In The Moonlight’ and ‘Jailbreak’, to name just a few. All renditions are fine and, to say it short, the band still got it, even after all these years. The other tracks show the band’s strengths as well. They don’t play it slow and keep the power up all the time. In my opinion all songs can keep up the good quality because the band is in very good shape.

But the major downside of this album is its weak sound mix. I rarely heard such a dull sound, especially with this album being a live recording. Not that it’s bootleg quality – it certainly isn’t – but it seems as if the recording wasn’t mixed at all. At first it’s quiet but not dynamic, secondly only the guitars and vocals are properly audible. I’m missing the bass most and the drum sound is weak, too. Listening to this album doesn’t recreate the live feeling at all, sadly.

In the end this Thin Lizzy live album isn’t essential and the album’s sound isn’t the best either but the band keeps it interesting most of the time. Yet, I think that only die-hard Thin Lizzy fans and collectors need this.

Track Listing:-

Disc One:
1. Are You Ready
2. Waiting For an Alibi
3. Jailbreak
4. Do Anything You Want To
5. Dancing In The Moonlight
6. Massacre
7. Angel Of Death
8. Still in Love With You
9. Whiskey In The Jar
10. Emerald

Disc Two:
1. Wild One
2. Sha La La La
3. Cowboy Song
4. Boys Are Back in Town
5. Rosalie
6. Bad Reputation
7. Black Rose
8. The Rocker

Thin Lizzy – Official Website